RSS

Thoughts from the Deer Stand

01 Jan

Last night December 30, 2013 I shot my first deer. It was a 95lb Doe. As I hunted in the stand this season, especially the past two days, I remember being told to “be patient”. While I understood the application of the truth was on waiting on the right deer, I could not help but allow my mind to reflect on God’s command for us found in Psalm 46:10. The readers are told, “Be still and know that I am God” or “Stop ceasing”. This one truth of “being patient” has become a motto for my life in the year 2013. Sometimes the only thing we need or could do is simply “Be still before our creator God”.

Waiting is hard, but is often the best thing we can do in our lives when it comes to seeking God’s plan. My family in the past couple of years have been through some trying times, and with our faith in our Lord and Savior we would not be where we are now. At each turning point in the recent years, I confess that the best times I understood His hand was when I “Stopped ceasing” and reflected on Him. This year, 2014, I hope and pray you will heed to God’s presence in your life as well.

Happy New Year!!

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and He will make your paths straight.”

Ramblings by:

Russell

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
